Sunil Das is an expressionist painter from Calcutta, India. He is most famous for his painting series on bulls, as seen posted above. Honestly, I was just researching artists from non-western culture because I realized there wasn’t a whole lot of Japanese or African art that really interested me and I just happened to stumble upon Das. I have always really loved Indian art as a whole, but no specific artist, just the colorful complexity of Indian paintings has always drawn me in. But there’s something about the simplicity of these paintings. I have always been attracted to bold colors and strange and sketchy looking drawings. The horse painting I find very creepy, actually. It reminds me of the cover and illustrations by Stephen Gammell. of that ghost story book that we all had or at least saw when we were younger, Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. Here are some images below from those books.

