First of all, I just want to warn all of you people, that I’m running on no sleep so this entry might get a little weird. Or it might not. It’s just a warning. Also, I will be ranting about hipsters.
To be blunt, art in “popular culture” is bullshit, because honestly, the whole definition of “art” and “artist” has changed.
You have your Urban Outfitter carbon copy hipster kids who all think they’re photographers because they took a picture of a very skinny girl with a Native American headdress with their oh-so-trendy Polaroid OneStep SX70 Land Camera, desaturated it, wrote lyrics to some song that they like on top of it, and uploaded it to their Flickr.
You have your pseudo-intellectual Frasier Craine types who see something expensive in a small boutique that looks like it was made in some faraway African tribal community and you think how awesome it would look in your loft.
You have your people who think food photography is “selling out” and would rather sit there in a studio for seventeen straight hours photographing skin or something completely irrelevant, just so people think you’re “abstract” or saying something important.
No, these are not definitively artists. An artist is someone who makes a living off of being artistic. That’s an artist. It’s a job. Why else would you pump thousands and thousands of dollars into school to learn how to become one. I don’t care if someone told you that if you express yourself you are an artist, or if you are creative you are an artist, or if you smoke so much salvia that you nearly travel to different dimensions and then write about it that you’re an artist. No, that’s called being artistic. Most people are artistic. Not everyone, I realize. Some people’s creative and fun-loving beauty-seeing souls have been murdered by corporate America (or something), but I guarantee that everyone can be artistic if they want to be.
If you were an artist, in this economy, you wouldn’t use a Polaroid camera at parties for anything other than the sake of being artistic because it’s completely ridiculous. If you make a living off of your art, chances are, in this economy, you simply don’t have the cash to throw down, what is it? $30 for a pack of 10 exposures.

Go home.

I can only speak for photography because that is basically the kind of art I have been immersed in for the past 3 years, and I only really know of the fake-ness in my area of study, but I do know that that specifically makes me angry.
I hate going on Tumblr and posting something genuinely beautiful that I spent tons of time and effort on, only to get looked over because the millionth person has to reblog that pretentious photo of that pretty delicate girl on a bike that was made before her parents even dreamed of having children for the millionth time.

Also, when I was a small Freshie here at Columbia, I had to take Fundamentals of 2D Design. Nevermind that it was the worst class I have ever taken in my entire existence, but one thing happened in that class that happens again and again in the “art community” that will never cease to make me angry, and that is teaching the “correct way” to “do art”. She told me that it is generally uninteresting and unartistic to stick things in the center of an image I am creating. Since when? Hasn’t that “oh, I’m at the side of the frame, looking off into the distance, smoking a cigarette” pose been done to death?

Could you look a little more prententious for me please? Thanks...

I feel like I want to do an entire project in her honor where I just stick crap in the middle of the frame and make it work. I feel like that works! How come in the popular modern art world that is considered wrong? You know what, I like the middle of the frame just fine. You know who usually puts things in the center of the frame? People who photograph ads. Do you want to know what photographers make a living? Photographers who photograph ads. Do you know what an artist is? It is someone whose job (as in making a living) is in art.

Center!

Center!

